How To Travel In South Africa

How To Travel In South Africa

Learn How To Travel In South Africa ; South Africa is a country on the southernmost tip of the African continent, marked by several distinct ecosystems. Inland safari destination Kruger National Park is populated by big game. The Western Cape offers beaches, lush winelands around Stellenbosch and Paarl, craggy cliffs at the Cape of Good Hope, forest and lagoons along the Garden Route, and the city of Cape Town, beneath flat-topped Table Mountain.

What is E-Visa In South Africa ?

The South Africa e-Visa is an electronic visa that grants entry into South Africa. Once available, eligible citizens will be able to complete the online application process without having to go to an embassy or consulate. The electronic visa system is currently being tested and is expected to become available soon to all eligible nationalities.

The South African visa application form is intended to be straightforward and take a matter of minutes to complete. Applicants are expected to answer a series of basic questions by entering information such as their name, address, date of birth, and passport details.

South Africa e-Visa for Tourism

The new South Africa e-Visa is expected to increase the number of visitors to South Africa. In 2017, 16 million tourists went to South Africa and this figure is expected to reach 19.5 million by 2022.

“Electronic visas will boost the tourism industry by cutting turnaround times for the issuing of travel documentation while ensuring the information of applicants is secure,” said James Vos, the Shadow Minister for Tourism. The e-Visa will make it much easier to enjoy what South Africa has to offer for many more nationalities.

South Africa E-Visa Eligible Countries

The South African e-Visa (South Africa tourist visa) has already been launched as a trial and will soon become fully functional. More eligible countries will be announced by the South African Government in the next months. For the moment, it has only been announced that electronic visa is currently being piloted who travel to the airports of Lanseria or OR Tambo. Up-to-date information regarding the Online visa for South Africa will be published on this website as soon as it becomes available.

  • Cameroon
  • China
  • DR Congo
  • Egypt
  • Ethiopia
  • Kenya
  • India
  • Iran
  • Mexico
  • Nigeria
  • Philippines
  • Pakistan
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Uganda

Requirements for South African Visa

To successfully apply for the e-Visa, applicants will need to meet the visa requirements for South Africa. It will be necessary to possess a valid passport from one of the eligible countries. Additional South Africa visa requirements are likely to be announced when the e-Visa becomes fully available.

Requirements for Entering South Africa

All visitors need a passport to enter South Africa. Unless you come from a visa-exempt country it is also necessary to present a visa.

At the moment, visitors who require a visa must apply at a South African embassy or consulate in person and provide biometric data. Once the trial is finalized, all eligible applicants will be able to complete the process online.

Passport Requirements To Tavel To South Africa

To enter South Africa it is necessary to have a passport with at least 30 days remaining from the intended date of departure. Passports must have two blank pages for entry stamps.

Documents Needed to travel to South Africa

Adults traveling with minors under the age of 18 need to show the child’s birth certificate which shows the details of both parents. If the child is traveling with one parent, it is also necessary to present a parental consent affidavit signed by the other parent.

Travelers coming from countries where yellow fever is prevalent need to present a certificate showing they have been vaccinated.

Visa-exempt countries for South Africa

At the moment, there are a number of visa-exempt countries for South Africa. Citizens of these countries can enter the country without a visa for limited periods.

52 nationalities who can enter for up to 90 days visa-free:

  • Andorra
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Ecuador
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Russia
  • St Vincent & the Grenadines
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Tanzania
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

28 Nationalities who can enter for up to 30 days visa-free

  • Angola
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bolivia
  • Cape Verde
  • Costa Rica
  • Cyprus
  • Eswatini
  • Gabon
  • Guyana
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Jordan
  • Lesotho
  • Macau
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Seychelles
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Turkey

It is possible that with the introduction of the South Africa eVisa the nationals of some of the current visa-exempt countries may need to apply for the online South Africa visa.

Who needs to apply for the South African visa at the embassy or consulate?

Citizens with passports from the following countries need to apply for a visa at the embassy or consulate to enter South Africa.

  • Afghanistan
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Belarus
  • Bermuda
  • Bhutan
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Djibouti
  • Dominican Republic
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea