List Of Category B Municipalities In South Africa

List Of Category B Municipalities In South Africa

learn more about category b municipalities in South Africa;

What is b municipalities?

If you live in a town or city that has a mayor or other officials who govern it, you live in a municipality. The word municipality comes from the Latin municipium, meaning “free city.” A municipality has its own government, but sometimes municipalities join together to share services.

How many Category B municipalities are there in South Africa?

Local municipalities [Category B]:

There are a total of 231 of these local municipalities and each municipality is broken into wards. The residents in each ward are represented by a ward councillor.

What are the 3 categories of municipalities?

There are currently three kinds of municipalities:

  • metropolitan municipalities which are big cities.
  • local municipalities which are towns and their surrounding rural areas.
  • district municipalities which coordinate a number of local municipalities in a region.
The richest municipalities in SA
Cape Town
Cape Town

South Africa has eight metropolitan municipalities, namely:
Buffalo City (East London)
City of Cape Town.
Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality (East Rand)
City of eThekwini (Durban)
City of Johannesburg.
Mangaung Municipality (Bloemfontein)
Nelson Mandela Metropolitan Municipality (Port Elizabeth)

What are the three levels of government in South Africa?

South Africa is a constitutional democracy with a three-tier system of government and an independent judiciary. The national, provincial and local levels of government all have legislative and executive authority in their own spheres, and are defined in the Constitution as distinctive, interdependent and interrelated.