National Council For Technical Education (NACTE) Curriculum Development

National Council For Technical Education (NACTE) Curriculum Development


The National Council for Technical Education (NACTE) is a statutory body established by Act of Parliament, Cap. 129 to oversee and coordinate provision of technical education and training provided by non-university tertiary institutions.

Section 11 of the Act of Parliament empowers the Council to approve curricula, examinations, and awards for autonomous non-University technical institutions.

Effective regulation and coordination of technical education and training in the country mandated to The National Council for Technical Education (NACTE) cannot be achieved if curricula for institutions do not address the needs of the society. The reason is that curriculum plays a central role towards production of skilled, competent and knowledgeable citizens to meet the demands of the country’s social and economic development. A curriculum is ‘a well planned and structured document showing what a learner (student) is expected to learn and achieve in terms of skills,knowledge and understanding and describes all aspects of teaching and learning such as learning strategies, assessment methods and the intended outcomes from learning’.It is through curriculum that:

  • Purpose and values of learning can be realized.
  • Curriculum contents can be identified to support attainment of desired competencies;
  • Learners are analyzed against required competencies at a given level of training
  • Activities, methods and media for teaching and learning are decided; and
  • Means of assessment are provided in order to measure effectiveness of educational delivery.

NACTE has defined and established a range of National Technical AWARDS (NTA) to be conferred to various fields of technical education and training. These awards are competence base and designed to testify that the holders possess the requisite skills and knowledge necessary to flexibly apply competences in the relevant occupational sectors.

The enabling tasks and environment for one to realize the outcomes specified for a particular NTA level are provided through Competence Based Education and  Training (CBET) curriculum. Hence, every technical education and training institution adopting the NTA system must have Competence/outcomes based curriculum in place.

Curriculum development process

To develop a curriculum that will provide required competences, it requires an institution or competent authority to pass through a series of stages which are;

  • Curriculum planning;
  • Conducting situation analysis;
  • Formulating learning outcomes, assessment criteria,    teaching and learning strategies for achieving the curriculum      goals and objectives;
  • Modularization and semesterization of curriculum; and
  • Approval and validation of curricula;

Curriculum can be developed at either National or Institutional level. In either case, the procedure is the same except that apart from assisting institutions in curriculum development process, NACTE is also mandated to validate curricula that have been developed or revised by technical institutions themselves or through any other responsible organ.

Competence-Based Education (CBET)

Scholars have identified four key points that make Competence/Outcome-based education work:

  • Clear identification of what a student must learn;
  • Assessment of progress basing on students’ demonstrable Achievement;
  • Use of multiple instructional and assessment strategies in Order to meet the needs of each student; and
  •  Providing adequate time and assistance that each learner can Reach his/her maximum potential.

For more information about curriculum, curriculum development procedures and competence-based education, please click the link below to download

Curriculum, curriculum development procedures and competence-based education

List of validated curricula developed by NACTE and other Government Ministries and Agencies  2004 – 2018.
NoName of CurriculumNTA LevelDeveloper
1.Accountancy4 – 6National Council for Technical Education (NACTE)
2.Business Administration
3.Procurement and Supply
4.Records, Archives and Information Management
5.Information and Communication Technology
6.Early Childhood Education
7.Nursing4 – 6Ministry of Health and Social Welfare (For Public and Private Nursing Schools
8.Clinical Optometry
9.Medical Laboratory Sciences
10.Paediatric Nursing
11.Operating Theatre Management
12.Midwifery Practice
13.Mental Health Nursing
14.Public Health Nursing
15.Ophthalmic Nursing
16.Nursing Education
17.Animal Production4 – 6Ministry of Livestock Development and Fisheries – Dar es Salaam
18.Animal Health
19.Animal Health and Production
20.Veterinary Laboratory Technology
21.Community Development4 – 6Ministry of Community Development, Gender and Children –
Dar es Salaam

NTA Competence Level Descriptors

NACTE has defined and established awards in technical education and training known as National Technical Awards (NTA). The NTA are competence-based and are designed to testify that the holder of the award is able to apply competently the knowledge and skills described in the relevant occupational sector. The seven NTA Levels of NACTE are linked to the three VETA system of awards known as National Vocation Awards (NVA) to provide a ten-level framework of TVET qualifications. Each of the NTA level has a broad competence level descriptor as follows:

Minimum Overall CreditsMinimum Credits from current LevelAwardCompetence Level descriptors
NTA Level 4120120Basic Technician CertificateApply knowledge and skills at routine level
NTA Level 5120120Technician CertificateApply knowledge and skills in a range of activities, some of which are non-routine and be able to assume some operational responsibilities
NTA Level 6240120Ordinary DiplomaApply knowledge and skills in broad range of work activities, most of which are non- routine
NTA Level 7360360Higher DiplomaApply knowledge, skills and understanding in a range of complex technical activities, high degree of personal responsibility and some responsibility for the work of other
NTA Level 8480120Bachelor DegreeApply knowledge, skills and understanding in wide and unpredictable variety of contexts with substantial personal responsibility, responsibility for the work of others and responsibility for the allocation of resources, policy, planning, execution and evaluation
NTA Level 9180150Master’s degreeThe holder of the qualification will be able to display mastery of a complex and specialised area of knowledge and skills, employing knowledge and understanding to conduct research or advanced technical or professional activity, able to work autonomously and in complex and unpredictable situations
NTA Level 10540360DoctorateThe holder of the qualification will be able to apply knowledge and understanding and do advanced research resulting into significant and original contributions to a specialised field, demonstrate a command of methodological issues and engaging in critical dialoguewith peers, able to work autonomously and in complex and unpredictable situations.