South Africa Map

South Africa Map

Learn more about the South Africa Map ; South Africa is bordered by Namibia to the northwest, by Botswana and Zimbabwe to the north, and by Mozambique and Swaziland to the northeast and east.

What was South Africa called before?

The name “South Africa” is derived from the country’s geographic location at the southern tip of Africa. Upon formation, the country was named the Union of South Africa in English and Unie van Zuid-Afrika in Dutch, reflecting its origin from the unification of four formerly separate British colonies.

What’s the difference between South Africa and Southern Africa?

Southern Africa is the southernmost subregion of the African continent Whiles South Africa is country in the Southern Africa.

What do I need to know about South Africa?

South Africa, the southernmost country on the African continent, renowned for its varied topography, great natural beauty, and cultural diversity, all of which have made the country a favoured destination for travelers since the legal ending of apartheid (Afrikaans: “apartness,” or racial separation) in 1994.

What is the real capital of South Africa?

South Africa has three cities that serve as capitals: Pretoria (executive), Cape Town (legislative), and Bloemfontein (judicial). Johannesburg, the largest urban area in the country and a centre of commerce, lies at the heart of the populous Gauteng province. Durban, a port on the Indian Ocean, is a major industrial centre. East London and Port Elizabeth, both of which lie along the country’s southern coast, are important commercial, industrial, and cultural centres.

Today South Africa enjoys a relatively stable mixed economy that draws on its fertile agricultural lands, abundant mineral resources, tourist attractions, and highly evolved intellectual capital. Greater political equality and economic stability, however, do not necessarily mean social tranquility. South African society at the start of the 21st century continued to face steep challenges: rising crime rates, ethnic tensions, great disparities in housing and educational opportunities, and the AIDS pandemic.

How many states does South Africa have? 9 Provinces

ProvinceName in the most spoken native languageCapitalLargest city
Eastern CapeiMpuma-Koloni (Xhosa)Bhisho (Bisho)Gqeberha
Free StateFreistata (Sotho)BloemfonteinBloemfontein
GautengeGoli (Zulu)JohannesburgJohannesburg
KwaZulu-NataliKwaZulu-Natali (Zulu)Pietermaritzburg[n 1]Durban
LimpopoLimpopo (Northern Sotho)Polokwane (Pietersburg)Polokwane
MpumalangaiMpumalanga (Swazi)Mbombela (Nelspruit)Mbombela
North WestBokone Bophirima (Tswana)Mahikeng (Mafikeng)Rustenburg
Northern CapeNoord-Kaap (Afrikaans)KimberleyKimberley
Western Cape[n 2]Wes-Kaap (Afrikaans)Cape TownCape Town
Republic of South AfricaiRiphabhuliki yaseNingizimu Afrika (Zulu)Pretoria, Cape Town, BloemfonteinJohannesburg
Which province is the richest in South Africa?

Gauteng is South Africa’s wealthiest province, mostly a city region and the centre of the country’s economy. It has the largest population, constantly swelled by migration.

Is South Africa a poor country?

South Africa is one of the most unequal countries in the world with Gini index at 63 in 2014/15. Inequality is high, persistent, and has increased since 1994. High levels of income polarization are manifested in very high levels of chronic poverty, a few high-income earners and a relatively small middle class.