Let's Scout Africa together And Uncover The True Beauty Of Africa

TEWU (UEW) Elects New Executives

TEWU (UEW) Elects New Executives

Incumbent Chairperson, Ms. Theresa Ackon has been declared winner of the 2018 Teachers and Educational Workers Union (TEWU) election held on Wednesday, 11th July, 2018 at North Campus, Winneba.

Ms. Theresa Ackon polled 250 votes representing 61.3% to defeat her closest contender Mr. Pius W. K. Ameble who had 133 of the valid votes cast, representing 32.6% whereas Mr. Richard Maxwell Koomson trailed with 23 votes representing 5.6%.

Ms. Theresa Ackon (middle) winner of the election and some supporters in a celebratory mood after the declaration of results

At a keenly contested election organised by the Division of Publications and Communication of the University and observed by a Regional TEWU Executive Member and two representatives from the Trades Union Congress (TUC), Mr. Ebenezer Ofori Atta amassed 159 votes to win the Vice Chairman position. He defeated Mr. Dominic A. K. Essel, Mr. Abraham Teye Otoo and Mr. David Ghartey who had 119, 86 and 29 votes respectively.

Representatives of the Trades Union Congress and a Regional TEWU Executive Member during the election

On the ticket of the Secretary position, Ms. Kathryn Esi Sackey emerged winner by securing 236 votes, twice more than her closest contender Mr. Julius Nyakpo who polled 103 votes and Mr. Philip Henry Kwadade who polled 65 votes.

For the Assistant Secretary position, Mr. Emmanuel Arthur polled 249 votes to hammer his only contender, Mr. George Mensah who obtained 139 votes out of the total valid votes cast.

With regards to the Trustee position, Ms. Anna Anthonita Mensah won comfortably with a commanding 226 votes to beat her contender Mr. Isaac Kutuu Boarbil who had 171 votes.

However, after long hours of voting, counting and declaration, supporters of the various victorious aspirants celebrated their candidates’ triumph with lots of joy and excitement.

Mr. Prince Asiedu, Planning Officer -UEW (right), Mr. Titus Aryeetey, Assistant Registrar-UEW  (middle) and Mr.Jerry Addison Enyan-Deputy Registrar (far left), Department of Publishing and Web Development busy counting votes cast.    

Subscribe to our newsletter
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time